To change default settings in lightroom while you’re under the develop tab click on the reset button at the bottom right of the right hand tool bar.
This will reset all settings.
Next make the adjustments how you’d like them to be.
When you’re satisfied hold down option on a mac, or alt on a pc and the reset button will become a Set as default button. Click the button. The settings will now be saved as default settings.